Log in

Dear PSHRA NC Board, Committee Chairs, and Members,

I am honored to serve as the President of the North Carolina Chapter of PSHRA (Public Sector HR Association), previously NC IPMA-HR. I have been a member of this organization since 2015 and it has been an extremely rewarding opportunity! Becoming a certified HR professional, working with colleagues from across the state of North Carolina as well as connecting with PSHRA members nationwide has broadened my knowledge of HR and the work dynamic in America. As a result of this, I feel I have a place at PSHRA and I realize as a group we stand apart in the professional world.


Thank you to the dedicated Board Members, Committee Chairs, and Members of PSHRA NC! Without the countless volunteer hours these professionals give of themselves, this organization would not thrive. It truly takes a village and everyone’s expertise to pull off the events, education sessions, and programs our organization aspires to provide. Anyone wishing to join our mission of representing Public Sector HR professionals and promoting the knowledge and growth of our members please reach out to me or any other Board Member. We would love to have you join our team!

My goals as President for 2023-2025:

  • Grow the organization through a membership drive and increased social media.
  • Reach Public Sector HR departments across the state and be represented in those municipalities that have not experienced the benefits of communing with
    like-minded colleagues.
  • Deepen our connections with each other through increased interactions and learning opportunities.
  • Provide relevant, useful information sessions with knowledgeable instructors and speakers throughout the year.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve, the pleasure is truly mine.

Kristen Terry, PSHRA NC President




 President  Kristen Terry   City of Asheboro
 President-Elect Liz Davis Town of Butner
 Past President Sandra Cheeks Winston Salem Rescue Mission
 Treasurer Beatrice Hunter City of Mebane
 Treasurer-Elect Latoya Peterson City of Concord
 Secretary Cliff Turner Town of Chapel Hill



 Board/City (6-30-26) Ruth Chaparro Kennerly City of Salisbury
 Board/City (6-30-24) Judy Schofield Village of Bald Head Island
 Board/County (6-30-24) Joanette Freeman Mecklenburg County
 Board/County (6-30-24) Jessica Baucum Macon County
 Board/At Large (6-30-24) Sinoda Brown City of Durham
 Board/At Large (6-30-26) Susan Thornton City of Goldsboro


 Shelvia Ashford 
 By-Laws Elgin Lane Emeritus Member
 Chapter Achievement/Recognition Susan Thornton City of Goldsboro
 Future Directions & Evaluations Elizabeth Simmons Wake County
 Membership Management & Recruitment Sandra Cheeks Winston Salem Rescue Mission
 Mentorship Brandon Elrod City of Newton
 Professional Development & Certification Angela Jones Robeson County
 Program Liz Davis Town of Butner
 Technology/Publicity Leigh Anne Bassinger City of Reidsville
 Scholarship Christie Langley City of Goldsboro
 Vendors/Sponsors Justin Palmer City of Kannapolis
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software